I was reading my posts today and I almost fell out of my chair.  Kerry Vincent posted a comment to this blog.  Thank you Kerry Vincent for your comments. 

For those of you new to cake decorating, Kerry Vincent is a celebrity in this field.  Not only does she create amazingly beautiful cakes, she has been a judge for the Food Network’s cake decorating series and she hosts the annual Oklahoma State Sugar Art Show.  I’m sure I have not done here accomplishments justice here but suffice it to say that I am a big fan.  If you ever get the chance, I highly recommend you go to the Oklahoma Sugar Art Show (OSSAS).  Here’s a link to the site for more information:  http://www.oklahomasugarartists.com/.

I went to the OSSAS the first year I started decorating.  You will be so inspired by the cakes you see there.  They hold a cake decorating competition for all ages and in many categories.  Even the youth entries are amazing.  The big event is the wedding cake competition.  I have yet to get up the nerve to enter the competition but I will one day.  In addition, there are many educational sessions by other great decorators showcasing new techniques and vendors on hand displaying new products.  Definitely put this event on your must attend list at some point in your career.

Well, lets talk about frostings.  My friend Roshini asked, “How do I store frosting in a tube?  Do I just recap it and store in the pantry or do I have to refrigerate it?”

Depends on how the frosting was made.  If it is merely confectioner’s sugar, shortening, and a bit of water (your standard decorator’s frosting), then you can put the cap on it and put it in the pantry.  Most of the tube based frostings in the grocery store can be stored without refrigeration.  If its, Pillsbury, Duncan Hines, Betty Crocker or any other can based frosting, they need to be refrigerated after opening but I don’t recommend keeping them for more than 2 weeks after opening/refrigerating.
 
The rule of thumb is that if the frosting is made with any diary products (butter, milk, eggs, etc.) you MUST refrigerate.  1-2 weeks is as long as you would keep any frosting containing these items before throwing them out.

